40 Years of Pulsars

Montreal skyline at night

Millisecond Pulsars, Magnetars and More

A conference celebrating the 40th anniversary of the discovery of the first radio pulsar in the summer of 1967, to be hosted by the pulsar group atMcGill University in Montreal, Canada, August 12 - 17, 2007. We will highlight the important discoveries of the last 40 years, address the most interesting and topical areas of neutron star astrophysics today, and look forward to the future of the field.

Keynote speakers
Anthony Hewish (Cambridge) and Joseph Taylor (Princeton)

Public lecture
Jocelyn Bell Burnell (Oxford), evening of August 14th

Scientific topics
Pulsar searches and timing; accretion and recycling; millisecond pulsars in the field and in globular clusters; young neutron stars, including magnetars, traditional Crab-like pulsars, and isolated neutron stars; glitches, precession, and nulling; binary pulsars, including the double pulsar; constraints on mass, radius, and the equation of state; new and future instrumentation.

Invited Speakers
Niccolo Bucciantini (UC Berkeley) Yuri Lyubarsky (Ben Gurion University)
Jim Cordes (Cornell) Dick Manchester (ATNF)
Christopher Deloye (Northwestern) David Nice (Bryn Mawr)
Duncan Galloway (Melbourne) George Pavlov (PSU)
Natasha Ivanova (CITA) Scott Ransom (NRAO)
Thomas Janka (MPA) Anatoly Spitkovsky (Princeton)
Peter Jonker (SRON/Utrecht) Henk Spruit (MPA)
Vicky Kalogera (Northwestern) Ingrid Stairs (UBC)
David Kaplan (MIT) Chris Thompson (CITA/Toronto)
Chunglee Kim (Cornell) Dave Thompson (NASA/GSFC)
Michael Kramer (JBO/Manchester) Peter Woods (Dynetics/USRA/NSSTC)
Andrea de Luca (INAF/IASF) Dima Yakovlev (Ioffe Institute)
Andrew Lyne (JBO/Manchester)

with reflections on the past and future of pulsar science from
Jon Arons (UC Berkeley) Dick Manchester (ATNF)
* Don Backer (UC Berkeley) Franco Pacini (Florence)
Ed van den Heuvel (Amsterdam) Joanna Rankin (Vermont)
Andrew Lyne (JBO/Manchester) Mal Ruderman (Columbia)
*=to be confirmed

Scientific Organizing Committee (contact: soc at ns2007.org)
Andrew Cumming (Co-chair, McGill), Vicky Kaspi (Co-chair, McGill), Matthew Bailes (Swinburne), Dipankar Bhattacharya (RRI), Deepto Chakrabarty (MIT), Monica Colpi (Universita' Milano-Bicocca), Jeremy Heyl (UBC), Vicky Kalogera (Northwestern), Michael Kramer (Manchester), Dong Lai (Cornell), George Pavlov (Penn State), Fred Rasio (Northwestern), Ingrid Stairs (UBC), Luigi Stella (INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma), Chris Thompson (CITA), Marten van Kerkwijk (Toronto), Frank Verbunt (Utrecht)

Local Organizing Committee (contact: loc at ns2007.org)
Cees Bassa (McGill), David Champion (McGill), Andrew Cumming (McGill), Vicky Kaspi (McGill), Robert Rutledge (McGill), Zhongxiang Wang (McGill)

We are grateful for support from

Talks online